Lossless VA - A Twist Of Jobim (1997) FLAC (tracks + .cue) music download

Jazz / Smooth Jazz

VA - A Twist Of Jobim (1997) FLAC (tracks + .cue)
Artist: VA | Album: A Twist Of Jobim | Released: 1997 | Genre: Smooth Jazz, Jazz | Country: USA | Duration: 00:57:35

The debut release from the I.E. label (which is connected with Polygram) is an unusual multi-artist tribute to the music of Antonio Carlos Jobim. Some of his tunes are made funky (but in a melodic and tasteful way), while others become quiet (but still passionate) ballads. The treatments are all jazz-oriented, and there is plenty of solo space for the likes of guitarist Lee Ritenour (in one of his finest jazz efforts), pianists Dave Grusin and Alan Pasqua, altoist Eric Marienthal, bassist Christian McBride, and tenor saxophonist Ernie Watts. Plus, there are guest spots for Herbie Hancock (an excellent acoustic piano solo on "Stone Flower"), the sopranos of Art Porter (on "Dindi") and Steve Tavaglione, the Yellowjackets (who team up with Ritenour on "Mojave"), singer El DeBarge ("Dindi") and the vocal duo of Al Jarreau and Oleta Adams ("Waters of March" and a lightweight rendition of "The Girl from Ipanema"). Nearly every song holds one's interest, the melodies are celebrated, and the fresh interpretations contain more than their share of surprises. ~ Scott Yanow

With Hancock,Jarreau,Ritenour

Recorded at Starlight Studios, Los Angeles and Sunset Sound, Hollywood, California between May and December 1996. Includes liner notes by Scott Adams and Neil Tesser.

Engineers: Don Murray, Lee Ritenour, Dave Kuhn.

El DeBarge, Al Jarreau, Oleta Adams (vocals)
Lee Ritenour (guitar, keyboards, synthesizer)
Yellowjackets (guitar)
Dan Higgins (flute)
Steve Tavaglione (soprano saxophone, EWI)
Art Porter (soprano saxophone)
Eric Marienthal (alto saxophone)
Ernie Watts, Bob Mintzer (tenor saxophone)
Jerry Hey (flugelhorn)
Dave Grusin, Russell Ferrante (piano, synthesizer)
Herbie Hancock, Alan Pasqua (piano)
John Beasley (synthesizer)
Gary Novak, Harvey Mason, Sr. , Will Kennedy , William Kennedy (drums)
Paulinho Da Costa, Cassio Duarte (percussion)

Audio Mixers: Don Murray ; David Kuhn.

Liner Note Authors: Scott Adams; Toshiki Nakada; Neil Tesser.

Recording information: Starlight Studios, Los Angeles, CA (05/1996-09/1996); Sunset Sound, Hollywood, CA (05/1996-09/1996).

Editor: Robert Vosgien.

Unknown Contributor Role: Joao Gilberto.

Arranger: Lee Ritenour .


01. Lee Ritenour & Dave Grusin / Water To Drink (Agua De Beber) [05:05]
02. Eric Marienthal, Dave Grusin, & Lee Ritenour / Captain Bacardi [05:04]
03. El Debarge & Art Porter / Dindi [04:57]
04. Al Jarreau & Oleta Adams / Waters Of March [04:38]
05. Dave Grusin / Bonita [04:04]
06. Herbie Hancock, Paulinho Da Costa, & Steve Tavaglione / Stone Flower [08:48]
07. Lee Ritenour & Eric Marienthal / Favela [04:46]
08. Alan Pasqua & Ernie Watts / Children's Games [03:52]
09. Ernie Watts & Christian McBride / Lamento [06:26]
10. Yellowjackets & Lee Ritenour / Mojave [05:22]
11. Al Jarreau & Oleta Adams / Girl From Ipanema [04:28]

Donation to replenish the collection of the site and its further development

Donation Bitcoin

If there are no links - Click here - And write a link to the album. We will reupload file


site to download free music, roylty free music, library music, royaltyfree music, free music downloads sites, stock music licensing
User are in a group Quests, can not leave comments on this publication.